Vegan Life in the UVM Dining Hall

So now that I am a bit more acclimated to college life, I thought I’d let you in on how I navigate the dining halls here at UVM 🙂

First and foremost, I’d like to say that the University of Vermont is one of the most vegan-friendly campuses that I’ve had the pleasure of visiting. A lot of people in Vermont are super into sustainable agriculture, proper nutrition, and staying active.

I am also in a Wellness dorm that encompasses the pillars of fitness, nutrition, and mentorship.

What does that mean for me?

Well, for starters, it means there are a lot of awesome people here! But, it also means that everyone understands the importance of nourishing their body, while also being ethical about doing so.

While not everyone is vegan, the campus is super tolerant of all diets. This includes having allergen-free zones, vegan and vegetarian options, as well as healthy, mindful options for all diets.

UVM is also a proponent of the Real Food Challenge, which means that 20% of the food served is considered to have minimal environmental impacts, is of a local source, and of fair trade. UVM prides itself on being ethical and sustainable in as many outlets as possible.

And, as I’m sure you’re all wondering…how does the food taste?

GOOD!

Living in the Wellness dorm means that I have a dining hall within my building. This specific dining hall offers a variety of mindful options to encourage healthy eating patterns.

Each day there has been a variety of grains, fruits, veggies, tofus, veggie burgers, soups, and oats to satisfy any vegan’s hunger! Here are a few pictures of the foods I’ve been eating:

img_4242
Below the abundance of squash, zucchini, beets, and brussels sprouts, is a grain called farro! I tried it for the first time, and it was delicious…I guess college really is for trying new things!
Leave a Reply

