Traveling the Jersey Shore…Vegan!

IMG_3981This past week, I spent a few days in Ocean City, New Jersey with some of my closest friends from high school. I was nervous about staying in a non-vegan household, but it ended up being so easy, and the trip was SO fun! I know a lot of new vegans struggle with traveling, so I thought I’d share some of my experiences so that it may help some of you.

Tip #1: Food prep! If you are staying with someone else, you can’t expect the host or hostess to accommodate your vegan lifestyle, especially if they have lots of guests to prepare for! So, come with your own food, so there isn’t any stress for either party! Luckily, I had a vegan friend along with me, and we brought applesauce, apples, bananas, fruit bars, pre-made rice, cereal, and almond milk with us to graze on. We appreciated the convenience of these foods when we were on the go.

Tip #2: Look up Restaurants: Before you go, look up restaurants that accommodate veganism or have vegan options! Eating out isn’t always essential, but sometimes it adds some more adventure to your travel experience. I either use Google, HappyCow, or the app Food Tripping to look up cool places.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t locate any explicitly vegan restaurants in Ocean City, I had to get creative! My friend told me about a frozen yogurt store that sold smoothies, acai, and pitaya (dragon fruit) bowls that were suitable for vegans called Yoasis.

So, for breakfast one morning I bought a Pink Dragon smoothie made with pitaya, mango, pineapple, and apple juice. It was such a vibrant pink, and it tasted amazing! I wish I’d snapped a picture for you guys, but it was truly amazing! My friend got the Green Goddess smoothie made with spinach, kale, spirulina, pineapple, banana, coconut water, and agave. She was pleased with her smoothie, as well!

Also from Yoasis, I bought an acai bowl for breakfast another day. I chose the Tropical Bowl, topped with mango, strawberries, coconut, and granola. It was delicious and very filling! I remembered to snap a picture (take a look above).

Many places on the boardwalk make sorbet, banana whips, and smoothies! Just be sure to ask if they have any dairy in them before you make your purchase.

Ultimately, veganism doesn’t make traveling a difficult experience! Just be prepared when it comes to food and dining. Don’t let food stress you out and ruin your vacation! Eating vegan is super convenient, so just pack to be prepared and enjoy the adventure 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

